Aaron Stewart

Aaron Stewart is a saxophonist and composer based in New York. He is currently a member of the Collective Identity saxophone quartet and performs frequently with Muhal Richard Abrams, with whom he also studies composition. Stewart has also performed with Andrew Hill’s Point of Departure Sextet. Among his many accomplishments, Aaron was commissioned as a composer in 1999 by the multidisciplinary performance group Tonk. He participated in Cecil Taylor’s 35-musician ensemble during its legendary weekly series at the Knitting Factory, and has performed in the AACM concert series as a sideman with Abrams, George Lewis, Reggie Nicholson, and Ed Wilkerson. He performed in the premiere of Anthony Braxton’s Composition 189 for 10 instrumentalists during his 3-day Ghost Trance festival and was also a featured soloist in Braxton’s opera composition 162, Shala Fears for the Poor. His discography includes Muhal Richard Abrams’s record Song for All, Steve Coleman’s large-group album Genesis, Vincent Chancey’s Next Mode, Collective Identity’s The Mass, and Vijay Iyer’s Architextures.

Related News

Wonderful feature article on the AACM by Nate Chinen in the New York Times on the occasion of the release of George Lewis’s “A Power Stronger Than Itself: The AACM and American Experimental Music.” It’s really heartening to be reminded how many of the key members of the AACM, some now gone, have recorded for Pi. Chinen goes on to name Fieldwork as an example of a band influenced by the AACM aesthetic. Thanks Nate for helping to draw attention to an organization whose recognition falls well short of it’s influence on the music.

posted on May 2, 2008 by Seth

Related Albums Related Posts